Many organisations in Australia build and implement their WHS management systems in alignment with AS/NZS 4801 or OHSAS 18001.

ISO (The International Organisation for Standardisation) is developing a new standard, ISO 45001 Occupational health and safety management systems – Requirements.

This standard is currently being developed by a committee of international WHS experts.

It is expected to follow the structure of other management system standards such as ISO 14001 (Environment) and ISO 9001 (Quality) which will facilitate the development of integrated management systems. Its format is anticipated to be:

  1. Scope
  2. Normative references
  3. Terms and definitions
  4. Context of the organisation
  5. Leadership
  6. Planning
  7. Support
  8. Operation
  9. Performance evaluation
  10. Improvement


This new standard is expected to be released in the 4th quarter of 2016